02 July 2010

Amsterdam by bike, and after some minor issues, walking

please excuse the typing I am doing this entry on the iPhone.

Met up with krista and Becky at the airport this morning, their flight got in an hour early. Got our bus to leidesplein and found Joe's apartment. We dropped off our stuff and I gave the best tour of Amsterdam that I could. First we rented bikes from mac cycle. Neither of the girls are bikers but they were real team players. We then took a leisurly ride through vondelpark and decided riding in amsterdam should be an amazing race event at some point. After riding a bit we stopped for lunch and both of the girls were overwhelmed with the dutch pancake that I ordered. After lunch we got back on the bikes and headed to the van gough museum and the I am Amsterdam sign luke took me to last time. The van gough museum was cool, but not the right thing to do when you are extremely jet-lagged from your flight last night the girls found. On our way back from the museum we were pulled over by the cops for riding on a pedestrian path, oops :). They were both real tired after the museum so we headed back to joe's where they took a nap. After their nap we checked into the hostel and returned our bikes. The girls were troopers with the bikes, but the bikes were a bit to big for them. Becky also claimed to run into a couple trucks and a baby. After returning the bikes we went to the Ann frank house. This was an amazing sight to see. Walking through the acutal hidden bookcase door into the room was amazing. I reccomend going to the house for anyone in Amsterdam. We walked through the entire house and were all very impressed. After that museum we walked the long way home and back to our hostel for the night.

I have nowbeen in the Netherlands for over a week and it's time to head to Antwerp, beligum tomorrow. It's great to have the girls here, and let the European adventure begin!!! Excuse the typing, i did this entry on the iPhone.

No comments:

Post a Comment